THE DIRECTOR

Press release

Hélianthe Bourdeaux-Maurin

Art historian, Hélianthe Bourdeaux-Maurin graduated from the School of the Louvre with the Superior Studies Degree and a specialty in Sixteenth and Seventeenth Centuries. She has a Master and a Master 2 from the Sorbonne University with a specialty in Contemporary Art and prepared a PhD in Art History on a French-American sculptor.

From 2003 to 2010, she was the Director of important modern and contemporary art galleries in New York (Spike Gallery, Peter Freeman, Inc. and Parker’s Box), contributed regularly to an art and fashion magazine, Whitewall Magazine and also was a independant curator. Her exhibitions have been discussed as much by the New York Times, Art in America, Le Monde or New York Magazine. She represented varied artists such as Joyce Pensato, Edith Dekyndt, Bruno Peinado, Virginie Barré, Simon Faithfull, Mel Bochner, Alex Hay or Helen Mirra.

From 2011 to 2016, she was the Exhibitions Coordinator of the Pinacothèque de Paris both in Paris and in Singapore. She organized major exhibitions as much about ancient art: The Romanovs and the Esterhazy, Van Gogh, Hiroshige, Leonardo da Vinci; about archeology: The Jade Masks of the Mayas, the Kamasutra ; or about modern and contemporary art: Expressionnismus: Brücke vs. der Blaue Reiter, Giacometti and the Etruscans, Graffiti Art (Pressionnism).

Since 2001, she has curated, organized or participated in over 80 exhibitions, advised institutions and collectors whether private or public, worked with over 400 living artists, musicians, dancers and international curators and has worked with hundreds of museums and private collectors in the United States, Canada, Europe, India and Africa.

Photo credits: Théodore Berg Boy

LA DIRECTRICE

Hélianthe Bourdeaux-Maurin

Historienne d’art, Hélianthe Bourdeaux-Maurin est diplômée des Etudes  Supérieures de l’Ecole du Louvre (spécialités XVIe et XVIIe siècles), titulaire d’un Master et d’un Master 2 à la Sorbonne  (spécialité « Art moderne et contemporain ») et a préparé à la Sorbonne un Doctorat d’histoire de l’art sur un sculpteur franco-américain.

De 2003 à 2010, elle dirige d’importantes galeries d’art moderne et contemporain à New York (Spike Gallery, Peter Freeman, Inc. et Parker’s Box), contribue régulièrement à un magazine d’art et de mode intitulé Whitewall Magazine. Elle est également commissaire d’exposition indépendante. Ses expositions sont commentées tant par le New York Times que par Art in America ou New York Magazine. Elle a représenté des artistes aussi variés que Joyce Pensato, Edith Dekyndt, Bruno Peinado, Virginie Barré, Simon Faithfull, Mel Bochner, Alex Hay ou Helen Mirra.

De 2011 à 2016, elle est la Chargée des Expositions de la Pinacothèque de Paris tant à Paris qu’à Singapour. Elle y organise des expositions de grande envergure autant sur de l’art ancien : Les Romanov et les Esterhazy, Van Gogh, Hiroshige, Léonard de Vinci que sur de l’archéologie : Les Masques de Jade Mayas, le Kamasutra ou de l’art moderne et contemporain Expressionnismus : Brücke vs der Blaue Reiter, Giacometti et les Etrusques, le Graffiti Art (Pressionnisme). Elle est également la Directrice artistique d’un site de vente d’œuvres et d’objets d’art abordables en ligne, Kazoart.

Depuis 2001, elle a monté ou participé à plus de 70 expositions, conseillé des institutions et des collectionneurs tant particuliers que publics, travaillé avec plus de 400 artistes vivants, musiciens, danseurs et commissaires d’expositions internationaux et a collaboré avec des centaines de musées et de collectionneurs privés tant aux Etats-Unis, qu’au Canada, en Europe, en Inde ou en Afrique.